West Des Moines
12 Books in 12 Months

12 Books in 12 Months

Our annual theme for 2019 is 12 Books in 12 Months: God’s Word for Everyday Life! The Holy Bible is the greatest book ever written. Even the most brilliant written works from the greatest human authors pale in comparison to the written and inspired Word of God.

As Christians, we turn to the Bible as our highest source and norm for all matters of faith and daily life. The Bible says what we believe, and we believe what it says. Scripture is timeless. It’s relevant. It’s life-changing. And most of the time it’s the most direct way God communicates directly to most of us.

That’s the difference between the Bible and any other book. Even books written about God are just that – words written by human authors about God. But the Bible is God’s Word written through human authors for us. There’s no other book like it.

Given all of that, it seems natural that everyone in the whole wide world would want to be fully familiar and fluent in the Bible … but too often we aren’t.

As a church, we want to change that for you. We want you, and the entire body of Christ called Lutheran Church of Hope, to be biblically fluent (not just biblically literate, but fluent). By the end of 2019, if you read the Bible daily (we’ll provide a guided daily tour), worship weekly (we’ll preach highly relevant and applicable sermons on the daily readings), and study the Word in groups (women’s, men’s, student, Life Groups, Bible studies, Page 2, etc.) … you’ll know God’s Word, and you’ll discover a quiet confidence along with a keen awareness of God’s presence and will for you in every life circumstance.


12 Books in 12 Months (Monthly Themes)

January - Book of Acts #RenewYear
February - First Letter to the Corinthians #LosingMyBadReligion
March - Gospel of Mark #MiracleMarch
April - Gospel of John #SingALong
May - Book of Proverbs #ScriptureAndAMovie
June - Book of Samuel #LifeLessonsFromKingDavid
July - Book of Esther #WhenGodSeemsAbsent
August - Book of Isaiah #TomorrowLand
September - Book of Jonah #WhaleOfATale
October - Gospel of Luke #StoriesOfUs
November - Book of Hebrews #SoulAnchor
December - Book of Revelation #WelcomeToTheNewAge


Daily Bible Reading

Printable Bible Readings: May | June

May Bible Readings

Wednesday, May 1 John 18
Thursday, May 2 John 19
Friday, May 3 John 20
Saturday, May 4 John 21
Sunday, May 5 Proverbs 1
   Sermon text May 4 & 5: Proverbs 3:1-8
Monday, May 6 Proverbs 2
Tuesday, May 7 Proverbs 3
Wednesday, May 8 Proverbs 4
Thursday, May 9 Proverbs 5
Friday, May 10 Proverbs 6
Saturday, May 11 Proverbs 7
Sunday, May 12 Proverbs 8-9
   Sermon text May 11 & 12: Proverbs 31:10-31
Monday, May 13 Proverbs 10
Tuesday, May 14 Proverbs 11
Wednesday, May 15 Proverbs 12
Thursday, May 16 Proverbs 13
Friday, May 17 Proverbs 14
Saturday, May 18 Proverbs 15
Sunday, May 19 Proverbs 16
   Sermon text May 18 & 19: Proverbs 23:29-35
Monday, May 20 Proverbs 17
Tuesday, May 21 Proverbs 18-19
Wednesday, May 22 Proverbs 20
Thursday, May 23 Proverbs 21
Friday, May 24 Proverbs 22
Saturday, May 25 Proverbs 23
Sunday, May 26 Proverbs 24
   Sermon text May 25 & 26: Proverbs 10:1-12
Monday, May 27 Proverbs 25-26
Tuesday, May 28 Proverbs 27
Wednesday, May 29 Proverbs 28
Thursday, May 30 Proverbs 29
Friday, May 31 Proverbs 30

Study Guides

Daily Bible Reading

Daily Devotions  


Worship Times

West Des Moines
Saturdays, 5:00 pm
Sundays, 8:00, 8:30 (Chapel), 9:15 & 11:00 am and 5:00 pm
Tuesdays, 6:30 pm
Thursdays (REVIVE for young adults), 7:00 pm